A little more to the left, Ahhh, that’s it.

On the Portafilter Podcast #57 Mr. Nick Cho had a little rant about the state of “Coffee Blogging”, and how he saw it as a mass message masturbation on the part of the blogging barista/professional/enthusiast community.
Did I say community? That’s right,

Community: a social, religious, occupational, or other group sharing common characteristics or interests and perceived or perceiving itself as distinct in some respect from the larger society within which it exists (usually prec. by the): the business community; the community of scholars.

I think that in addition to the fount of unsubstantiated opinions, the bloggin’ of coffee and espresso related things has been a tremendous international dialogue that has spread valuable information in real time to every corner of the coffee brewing planet. But that is just my opinion, and I have not had my research department and team of fact checking interns get a report back to me on that yet.

Just to be fair and above board, I do love to have my ego driven passions stroked by such a wide reaching web of tangled and wireless networks, and so far nothing has been quite as inflating as the blog job. Blow baby, blow.

I remember Mr. Cho’s hint of dissapointment (I forget the podcast #) when he was pondering the slow sales of his championship winning espresso blend, and Peter Guiliano reminded him that it was because no one was talking about it On-Line yet. So the blogs can serve very well as a conduit of information, trend, fad, or whatever happens to catch the fancy of the public at any given moment. Or does it help to shape the fashion of thought that goes on out there?

If blogging is a form of masturbation, and Nick has the biggest bloggin’ podcast in the coffee world, does this reflect an aberration in his need for self stimulation? And what is with his fixation with brown skinned Simoan men?

I do get his point though. I am sure I am guilty of the type of self satisfaction of which he speaks. No one reads my blog as much as I do. But there is also a feeling of camaraderie, a common thread, a close knit feeling to the coffee community in part as a result of the type of mass communication afforded us by the net. I enjoy the Portafilter Podcast, and I think there is much room on the web for many such aural forums on the subject of espresso, brewing, roasting, and Clovering.

As with any form of media, one does have to sift through the silt to find the chicken nuggets. I hope Nick’s feelings won’t prevent him from his ritual of blog reading from the family throne. These are just a couple of thought that came to me while listening to the latest poscast, it was not meant to be anything too profound. If you will excuse me now, Daddy’s gotta go poop.

  1. I think Nick just gave too much focus to some people that he probably should have just avoided. You know when you get in a tangle that in hindsight you want to get out of. I wrote right on PF (http://www.portafilter.net/2006/12/podcast-57-portafilter-drivecast.html)
    my response. I think Nick was eating on a few points, one, we should talk more casually online, don’t feel the perfection bar, _and_ to those people who keep talking shit, please stfu. Which I just detune those who show they have no experience or ability to find it.

    What I am loving are people who don’t understand (and there are plenty) the difference between the old market and the emerging market and how the long tail works. I got dissed the other day behind my back that bloggers have no weight. I beg to differ. Ah well, sink or swim, sink or swim. ;-)

    -a

  2. It is really no different than cable TV. There are literally hundreds of channels, and still you can count on one hand the ones that you want to watch.

    However, there are so many hundreds of thousands of blogs, you just can’t paint them with one brush.

    I get his frustration though, it can be like finding a decent article of clothing at the thrift store.

  3. Who was painting with “one brush?”

    I think I drew clear distinctions between two categories (in my mind) of blogs.

    I had TWO brushes, thank you very much.

  4. You very well may have two brushes, Nick, and I would like to think that I have been coated evenly by both.

  5. I wonder when he’ll make the two lists so we can see how Rev. Cho categorizes all of us.

  6. I think he only intends to shake the canister and then watch the cream rise, and see what precipitates to the bottom.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

