Don’t be a ‘Spro, Bro

     I don’t know…..    Maybe I am too old to be hip anymore, if I ever was.   Maybe I am just not on the cutting edge of cool.  The kids like their lingo, and the lingo morphs from one generation to the next.  Hell, it changes from one graduating class to the next for that matter.  Everything has been shortened or abstracted.  If you are in the know you will get it, otherwise you just some old geezer, or at least over 35 years old. 

     Peeps, scrilla, the shizzzz, tat, the ‘Tane;  almost anything can be shortened, abrieviated, or altered for added hip value.  With the exception of the timeless “cool”, the relavence of any given piece of slang is restricted to a period in history that lasts about as long as adolesence.   You will easily be spoted as an older poser if you try to whip out an expression you think is cool, but has already gone out of style.

“Yo G, slap me some skin, ’cause you look crazy stoopid in all the Bling!”   You get the gist.

spro.jpg

 Maybe I am just to old to appreciate creative language.  Am I a stick in the mud, or is the term “‘Spro” just the most juvinille sounding thing?  Do you walk into a sophisticated establishment and turn to the Somallier and say “Dude, pour me some Vino!”  So why would you walk into cutting edge modern day specialty coffee bar and say, “Gimme a ‘Spro, Bro!”  Maybe the torn and un-laundered jeans and ratty T-shirt with a Kitchy silk screen allows you to let down the guard you normally reserve for interaction with civilized and cultured individuals.

     The long and short of it is, wheather I am too old to be cool or not, I just think it sounds bad.  It is not that I think it gives the coffee industry a bad image, or that the Barista community needs to clean up it’s act.  I am not advocating any sort of social correction.  The expresion istelf is just crude and awkward.   And besides, it is very reminiscent of the term “Spooge”.

  1. I hear you. I’ve worked as a bartender from time to time and the younger crowd (21 to 24) seem to have their own language when ordering drinks. “SoCo Coke” in my day (a whole whopping 9 years ago) was a Southern Coke.

  2. Thanks for stopping by. Yes, the kids, I still think I am one, then I see a photo of myself and I think, “why is my dad wearing my jaket? Oh crap, that’s me.”

    • karen
    • July 22nd, 2007

    Ugh. I hate “spro.” What a repugnant term. For me it tends to tag its user as a dork (the bad kind).

  3. Having been a dork most of my adult life, I remain desperatly hopeful that I qualify as the good kind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

