A Visit to Chestnut Hill

I am sitting in the dining room of Chestnut Hill Coffee Co., and I am basking in the soft sun lit window looking out on a cobble stone street lined with trolley tracks and lackadaisical pedestrians in the upscale Germantown, Chestnut Hill district along Philadelphia’s Main Line. A parking spot opened up about a block up, and I could smell the familiar aroma of coffee roasting somewhere. I knew I was in the right place.

I ordered a double espresso, which barely filled a LaMarzocco brand demitasse half way. It was wonderful.

Sorry for the blurry picture with bad color. Ever since my camera was stolen I am reduced to the phone camera. Not visible in this photo is a great deal of dark “chestnut” brown flecking. I have not had a truly satisfying ristretto style shot since I left North Carolina, and it was damn refreshing.

I complemented the short drink with mug of “aged” Sumatra. Even through a paper filter it was full of the musty shroominess of distant lands, and hinting at the street market transactions of the Betel Nut chewing ladies of the bazaar. It comes with one free refill.

My experience was made complete with very good and friendly service. From start to finish, this is a great place to drink coffee and enjoy cafe life.

  1. one of my favorite parts of town. nice to see you discovered it. back when i was haunting round the delaware valley cosi and starbucks were the only choices.

    • Rich
    • September 1st, 2007

    put it on the roster for my visit, onion!!

  2. You bet!

    • John Hornall
    • October 15th, 2007

    Thqanks for the visit and kind words. Sounds like it was a nice trip. Cheers!

  3. It was nice, and I’ll be back soon, with friends.

    • Jason Lips
    • November 16th, 2007

    Phil, thanks for the good words. I’m working on a brochure for our wholesale program and am wondering if you would allow us to quote your review in a section of media quotes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

