Cupping and Skimming

There is a point during the cupping process when you must skim the floating grounds and CO2 foam off the top of the cups. Brent Hall in Charlotte call it “skimming the Chum”. I was taught to do it using two spoons held together and to pull from one end of the cup to the other. Usually a second pass is used to get any stray floater.

Peter Giuliano claims to have seen cuppers in Central and South America skim with one spoon. Upon hearing this, I took it as a personal challenge to master the skill.

Tim Nobel, a coffee enthusiast here in the Philadelphia area (and soon to be coffee shop owner), shot a little video at our cupping today at MilkBoy Coffee in Ardmore.

I can’t seem to embed, but just click this.

    • Kemper Covington
    • January 26th, 2008

    Hi Phil,

    I was just googling to see if I could find out what you might be doing these days and if you were still in Garner. (I thought you might have moved north). Since there are not too many Ptoteaus that like mushrooms, coffee, and guitars, I am assuming this is you. It would be good to hear from you. I really hope the family is good and I am sure your daughter has grown. Looks like you have found your calling in the coffee business. I have just started drinking coffee again since I probably last did a project with you! Drank some Larry’s Beans the other day. Might have to check out the location your company works with in Raleigh on Glenwood. Do you have your own store?

    Best regards to you and your family for 2008. Hope to hear back from you.

    Kemper Covington

  1. Hahahaha… Larry’s Beans… That always gets to me.
    -Tim NOBLE, mofo. And that’s still some fancy spoonin’ Phil.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

