Anfim and Compak

I had the opportunity to try out these grinders at the Jam last week and I wanted to post a few observations I had and to ask about anyone else’s experience with them.

I’ll start with the Compak:
I used this with the Biloya for SO espresso. I was trying to use a low dose, about 15 grams. The grinder has a massive conical burr like the Robur but is slightly smaller in width and hight. It is also a bit lighter, which made it easy to move around the counter. It ran very quietly, which was very nice. It has a stepless grind adjustment that is much more sensitive than the Mazzer adjustment collar. You have to turn the dial more to achieve the desired result, but that means you can make even more subtle changes. The adjusting ring itself if very large in the palm of your hands and is smooth and rounded. This makes it feel nice. It has to be loosened and tightened with a set screw for every change, which is a little bit of pain. Overall I like it better than than the Robur for it’s size and weight and infinite adjustment. And the icing on the cake is that the grinds fall straight down. You don’t know how much of a luxury that is till you use it.


Which brings me to the Anfim:
This machine does posess all the qualities that have been attributed to it as of late. It has great visibility into the dosing chamber, the wheel sweeps the chamber very cleanly, the grinds fall straight down. It is also a very quiet grinder and has those big flat titanium burrs. The grind adjustment is a click setting, so no stepless changes. This is where the timing device comes in. I was at first really thrown off by this grinder as to how to achieve the proper balance between grind setting and timed dose. But I reallized it is like the old days when I use to use a stepped grinder. I had to use my dosing to get those “in between” adjustments by uping or downing depending on how the coffee was flowing. I figured out that with the Anfim you have to chose one of two options. If you have a coffee that benefits from up dosing, you must find the next best coarse setting and adjust the dose up to the right flow rate. If your coffee is better at a lower dose, you set it the next best fine grind setting and adjust the timer down to achieve the right flow rate. All the training we do with stepless is geared towards leaving the grind adjustment as the only variable to play with. With the Anfim, you find a close grind setting and use the dose as the changing variable.

After using both of these grinders over a three day period I am convinced that the dynasty of the Mazzer as the industry go-to grinder is fast coming to a close. They are either too loud, bulky, hot, or messy when compared to others coming out on the market. I believe that the Barista community needs to take a serious look at both of these models. I first thought that the recent rash of Anfims out there was a quaint and trendy ripple in the business, but I am definitly a convert.


_________________

  1. Amen. Nice post.

  2. Phil, good detail and thanks for the post. However, I’d like to add for those Mazzer owners (like my shop), Andy Schechter offered a mod that actually does eliminate most of the waste that Mazzers produce. Not that the grinds fall like soft snow, but you eliminate the left throw. Doesn’t do anything about the noise or heat though. So if you don’t have $1700 on hand at the moment, there is an interim solution that gets you part way there while you’re saving up to buy something better.

    http://www.home-barista.com/forums/how-to-make-your-mazzer-dose-like-anfim-t6290.html?sid=4ca6cb2ca42ce01d1eb3c00f72be6b53

  3. I realize not everyone will run out and drop the cash in the next couple of months. I am just acknowledging the inevitable fact that Mazzers will either have to step it up or get phased out. If you can mod one with $1.50 worth of stuff from the craft shop, they ought to be doing it at the factory. Once I got my hands on these other styles I came to realize how antiquated the Mazzer design is.

    I know that Daryn Berlin used that same exit mod on grinders as long and two years ago for his competition Mazzer grinder, so it’s not like it’s a surprise to anyone now that they need to clean it up.

    But by all means, drive the current ones into the ground before switching. They get plenty of face time with the Baristas, so it’s just a matter of time.

  4. can you give us an idea about the prices?

  5. I don’t know the actual cost of these, but I know that they are more than the Super Jollies (in the hundreds of dollars American) and are in the range of the Robur (over a thousand dollars American).

  6. Thanks for the good writeup. It actually used to
    be a amusement account it. Look advanced to far delivered agreeable
    from you! However, how could we be in contact?

    • Paul
    • July 7th, 2013

    I too was a bit thrown off when first using the Anfim,after using stepless Mazzers for years. I get that you have to adjust the timer to compensate for the big steps. But by using dose as a variable, would it not make the coffee very inconsistent? Your brew ratio would be out unless you also adjust the amount of water going through the shot. But even if you can keep the brew ratio the same. A 18g dose at 65% brew ratio doesn’t taste the same as 20g 65% ratio. So have you found varying dose works well taste wise?

    Presuming all doses extract properly varying does will also vary the amount of coffee solids in the shot, which will also mean brew strength in an Americano or Capp will be inconsistent,unless you adjust the amount of water or milk u use as well. Maybe I have this wrong, but it seems dose as a variable is risky! Any thoughts

    Paul

  7. Hi just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of
    the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  8. Hi, after reading this awesome article i am too cheerful to share my
    familiarity here with friends.

  9. Greetings I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found
    you by error, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous
    post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it
    all at the minute but I have book-marked it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the great work.

  10. Awesome website you have here but I was curious about if
    you knew of any message boards that cover
    the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get comments from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Cheers!

  11. I am really inspired along with your writing talents as smartly as with
    the layout to your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great blog like this one nowadays.
    .

  12. Wow, incredible blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog look easy. The overall look of
    your site is great, as smartly as the content!

  13. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter
    and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  14. I need to to thank you for this wonderful read!!
    I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

  15. I have to thank you for the efforts yyou have put in penning tjis site.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content by you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal website now ;)

  16. I was curious if you eer thought of changing the structure of your
    site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of cointent
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text
    for only having one oor two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  17. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking thee time and actual effort to produce a ttop notch
    article… but what can I say… I heesitate a whole
    lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  18. This post is really a nice one it hepps new net visitors, who are wishing iin favor of blogging.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

