MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010

For the fourth year in a row Gerra Harrigan (New Harvest Coffee) and Troy Reynard (Cosmic Cup) have organized the Mid Atlantic North Eastern Barist Jam, but this has always exceeded the narrow description of a Jam, and is now called a conference. I have been saying it is more of a convention for the three years that I have participated. Using the headquarters of New Harvest Coffee in Providence RI was a huge success. There were six espresso machines (if you count the two in the training room), oodles of manual brewing devices, loads of beer, and for the lucky few, there was home made apple brandy, coffee liqueur, and slightly aged whiskey. Somebody up there has a still in a secret location, and apparently they know what to do with it.

Yesterday someone asked me to tell them my three high points. Here they are in order of greatness (to me anyway):

1- The point of the conference, in my opinion, is not just to have the opportunity for accomplished Baristas to rub elbows and network with other great coffee personalities. It is raise the level of knowledge, to educate, to create a greater sense of professionalism. There was a young woman named Emily from a local shop called Honey Do Doughnuts. She uses a super-auto machine, and has never dosed, distributed, or otherwise handled a portafilter. She heard about the conference and, of her own volition, sought us out (the specialty coffee people) to learn more about the craft. I took here on a dizzying crash course of Barista craft while scrambling to calibrate the tricky Malkhonig K-30 grinders just prior to the spro down. Quickly explaining what I was doing, and why, I crammed as much as I could into her brain for a few short minutes. It is important to me that everyone attending get the message there is no place for elitist and self aggrandizing attitudes in our little part of the industry. I hope she came away with a positive perspective and the desire to continue to learn more.

2- As the representative of one the sponsoring companies, I was given 10 minutes to tell a bit about the company. I recited our (Counter Culture Coffee) mission statement.

-Counter Culture Coffee is a relentless pursuit of coffee perfection

-We strive to achieve real social, economic, and environmental sustainability in all our endeavors

-We create cutting edge coffee people

That about sums it up.

3- For the last two MANEs, I worked sort of behind the scenes in a technical and logistical support capacity. This year I was asked to be a feature presenter. This was a terribly great honor for me, and I hope to never lose sight of the fact that I am in no way a super brain of coffee knowledge, and that there are many, many others as worthy or more than I am to speak on such matters.

For a close tie in fourth place would be hanging out with all the great bunch of coffee professionals who ended up getting sent away from on bar in downtown Providence, and ended up the true hang out, the Red Fez. This was equally matched with meeting the big bunch from Buffalo, the big bunch from Joe in NYC, working with host and organizers, spending time with my co-workers, and partying with the crew from Aldo Coffee of Pittsburgh.  All others I ran into, chatted up, or otherwise interacted with, this goes for you all too.

MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010

This is the New Harvest training room.

MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010

Here is Troy of Cosmic, Rik of New Harvest, and Jay of Spro

MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010

Tommy, the Counter Culture Tech Guy, plumbing in a dedicated Shot Brewer

MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010
Jay gives a mock speech to an empty room
MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010
Among other coffee shops, we visited White Electric to see their cool (actually hot) lever machine
MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010
The discussion panel talked of the coffee career path, with special attention paid to women specific strategies
MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010
David Schomer, who was invited, said he is happier working in his shops, but did send this autographed glossy
MANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010
We saw the Providence River Pyres, I’m not even going to try to explain thisMANE Artisan Coffee Conference 2010
Sorry about half of John’s face from Aldo, Troy of Cosmic, Ani of Aldo, Jess also of Aldo. Not to omit or offend any of the other dozens of great people, but these were good times with this bunch.

 

See you next year!

  1. This design is incredible! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to
    start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than
    that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  2. For some breathtaking Scottish views, make sure to capture
    the Grampian Mountain chain if possible. The Royal Mile – The stretch of
    road that connects the castle to Holyrood, lined with great little
    shops. April Fool, for Saturday Writing Essentials  by Sheila Deeth.

  3. We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web site!

  4. Hi friends, its wonderful paragraph regarding cultureand completely explained,
    keep it up all the time.

  5. So there are many virtual airlines that you can choose from
    and be their management. Solution Options: It was decided
    to use a web services simulator to simulate the exact functions of a web services backend.
    You can train up your hobo so that you can kill other hobos even more easily, and it is a very addicting
    game. If you are running your simulator for commercial purpose and there are people playing with their
    own golf clubs, ask them to wipe their clubs with a wet clean piece cloth.
    Every plane is actually the virtual model of the real aircraft, including the controls that
    you can setup with the working, clickable cockpit.

  6. With only a handful of compliant blowers on the market,
    the new regulation could make it tough for smaller companies to
    comply with the new law. Based on a few models the length of the
    battery can differ, the battery in particular used in the particular ALB 18 Li Bosch Cordless Leaf Blower
    will only survive around 15 min’s. The manufacturer guarantees that they offer soft grip handles for best user comfort.

  7. Learn the most beneficial computer accessories with fantastic costs http://bit.
    ly/18nUI5t

  8. Hi there, this weekend is pleasant in support of me, because this occasion i am
    reading this enormous informative article here at my house.

  9. Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and I in finding It
    really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to present something again and aid others
    like you helped me.

  10. hi!,I really like your writing so so much! share we keep in touch
    extra about your post on AOL? I need an expert in this
    space to solve my problem. Maybe that is you! Taking a look forward to see you.

  11. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  12. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious know-how regarding unpredicted feelings.

  13. Hello Dear, are you in fact visiting this web site regularly, if so then
    you will without doubt take nice experience.

  14. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously feel this amazing site needs a lot more attention.

    I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the advice!

  15. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you ought to publish more on this issue, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people do not discuss these subjects. To the next! All the best!!

  16. After looking at a handful of the blog posts on
    your site, I really appreciate your way of blogging. I added it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my web site as well and let me know how you feel.

  17. In fact her explains almost literally how tto read a girl’s head.
    Based on numerous a Vin Dicarlo Pandora box Review it offers advice guys to comprehend the behaviour of women.
    Various other dating organizations, potentially much less good, manage services involving bootcamps for an end of the week where you
    can obtain personal instruction for around $1000.

  18. When you can this page, you will be motivated to key in your ako cac login information, as well as your username and password and then click
    on my. An economical SSL qualification is disseminated in seconds, like
    Thawte SSL dod certificates seal to promote your current
    security. B) Allowable fees – Fees on gift cards and gift dod
    certificates are allowed to become charged on a
    monthly basis if inactive.

  19. whoah this blog is excellent i love studying your articles.
    Keep up the great work! You know, a lot of people are hunting round
    for this information, you could help them greatly.

  20. Many companies have free trial offer offers
    where they are going to ship you some supplements to try and all sorts of you have to complete is pay
    for shipping and handling. Playing with a soft reed produces a buzzy
    type of tone and will sound flat.
    I find great tips on how we can easily manage this ailment and I might choose to impart to you.
    When employed in excess it might cause diarrhea and vomiting so used in small
    doses.

  1. May 17th, 2014
    Trackback from : お宮参り
  2. June 11th, 2014
    Trackback from : sales.emersivetech.com
  3. July 18th, 2014
    Trackback from : phytolacca decandra

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

