Gwilym and the Athena Lever Machine

Love your Lever

Ever wonder where the expression “pulling a shot” comes from?  Maybe not, but this is where; pulling the lever of a piston driven espresso extraction.  The first espresso to have thick and persistent crema, heavy body, and a tasteful balance between acidity and sweetness, came from the lever design.  At a time when the Italian infrastructure was mostly demolished, (1940) cafes needed a way to bring water to the espresso machine (previously steam driven espresso) when there was no running water.  The solution, designed by Gagia, ( still a name in espresso equipment today) was to put the water pump right at the point of coffee delivery.

Cosimo Libardo and Lou Barba of Nuova Simonelli, traveling with Gwilym Davies, are presenting the Athena lever machine in the USA this week.  I attended the event in Washington DC at the Counter Culture Coffee training center.

It is basically the same type of low tech water pump you see in old cowboy movies where the thirsty character has to drive a handle up and down to make the water flow.  Simple enough, right?  It is simple, very simply, so simple it is almost stupid.  Purely by accident, this innovation implemented so many serendipitously positive characteristics that it becomes mind boggling.  Here is a short list:
-The first espresso ever extracted above 2 or 3 bars of pressure, the lever delivers an average of about 9 bars along a declining graph of pressure over time, resulting in the first crema

-Drawing super heated water from the boiler into the piston chamber brings the temperature down to an appropriate range, with a descending temperature throughout the life of the shot

-Soft, slow, and gentle pre-infusion at 0 bars of pressure, which you can time as long or as short as you like

If you think about all the technological advances since this 1940 design, (electric pumps, double boilers, mechanical and electronic pre-infusion, gicleur regulated soft infusion, and pressure profiling),  all seem directed at reproducing what this simple device does in a natural way.  Let’s have a peek:

ATHENA LEVER

It does all these same things, but in a way that is slightly different than what we have become accustomed to.  It stabilizes temperature, but not in a flat line sort of way.  The temperature starts high and dramatically drops; as much as 10 degrees F.  It pressurizes, but again not in a flat line.  Pressure starts out a phenomenal 11 bars, and dramatically drops as low as 7 bars.  It pre-infuses, but with 0 pressure.  The differences are such that you can’t apply what you know from electronic machines.  Pre-infusion is long, the shot itself can run very long, and you have to really go out of your way to channel or over extract.  In fact, watching Baristas work on it for their first time, I was struck by how difficult it was for them to allow the shots to run 40 seconds or more.  Second nature for them was to terminate the shots before they were fully developed (thinking they had already over extracted).  Once you get the hang of it, however, you find that the high temps and pressure at the beginning coupled with low temps and pressure at the end will result in brilliant acidity balanced by intense sweetness.

Love your Lever

Nuova Simonelli bought the Victoria Arduino brand a few years ago, and have retooled the design to include a heat exchanger (it was drawing right from the steam boiler before) and some other small tweaks.   Cosimo is very intent about studying all aspects of their equipment in a scientific way, designing and redesigning equipment with the production of great tasting espresso always in mind.

Love your Lever

I have always been drawn to low tech and old fashioned ways of doing things.  My fascination lies with how problems were solved in such simple ways before humans had developed the incredible tech boom of the last 50 or 60 years.  I am in love with this machine and the simple technology on which it works.  With a gas flame, you can run this thing entirely without electricity.  Wrap you bicycle chain around the drive shaft of your espresso grinder, and you have the total package.

  1. Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and
    it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this
    is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  2. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for
    my mission.

  3. Normally I do not read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to
    try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite nice article.

  4. At this moment I am going to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming again to read additional news.

  5. It’s very easy to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I found this article at this web site.

  6. Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Taking a few minutes and
    actual effort to produce a very good article…
    but what can I say… I put things off a lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  7. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  8. Genius just genius sharing. Are you some sort of scientist or what. you have shared excellent article and its pretty informative.

  9. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this
    information to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.

    Thanks for sharing!

  10. I will immediately snatch your rss feed as I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please allow me realize so that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  11. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!
    Very useful info particularly the last part :
    ) I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info
    for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  12. Excellent website. A lot of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thanks for your effort!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

